Spread the love

At its annual awards reception, the Carl Goodson Honors Program at Ouachita Baptist University named Libby Hilliard the 2016 Garrett Ham Scholar.

Read the full article here.

About the Garrett Ham Scholarship

I established the Garrett Ham Scholarship in 2008 while I was in law school at the University of Arkansas because I wanted to encourage high-quality ministry students, like Libby Hilliard, to take advantage of every educational opportunity available.

During my time at Ouachita, I felt that not enough students were taking advantage of the tremendous opportunities available through the Honors School. The year I graduated, I was the only Christian Studies major who presented an honors thesis. I started the scholarship because I did not want academic research to remain the exclusive domain of STEM students. I am excited to see how the program has taken off under Dr. Pemberton’s leadership.

The scholarship provides students with approximately $1,250 to aid their research efforts through travels to academic conferences and the acquisition of scholarly materials. I am humbled by the motivation of students like Libby Hilliard, and I am grateful for the small part I am able to play in her education.

About Libby Hilliard

The Ouachita Honors Council chaired by Dr. Barbara Pemberton selected Libby Hilliard, a junior Biblical Languages major from Van Buren, Arkansas as the 2016 recipient. She succeeds Collin Battaglia and Mack McGehee, who were named the Garrett Ham Scholars in 2015.

Libby Hilliard plans to use the money to study abroad and/or purchase additional academic resources to continue her studies.

About Ouachita Baptist University

Ouachita Baptist University is a liberal arts university located in Arkadelphia, Arkansas. Notable alumni include former Arkansas governor and presidential candidate Mike Huckabee and preeminent legal scholar and former dean of Northwestern University School of Law Leon Green. For more information, please visit www.obu.edu.


See Also:

Ouachita Baptist University Names Anna Sikes the 2014 Garrett Ham Scholar

Ouachita Baptist University Names Chris Redmon the 2013 Garrett Ham Scholar

Try The World


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *